top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSingh Brothers

AN EXTRACT FROM *SHREEMAD BHAGAVAD GITA*

Once sage Narad went to visit Lord Ram. He saw that Hanuman was guarding his palace. Hanuman : “O sage, where are you going?” Narad : “ I have come to see the Lord.” He then asked Hanuman, “ What is Lord doing now?” Hanuman : “ I am not sure, but he is writing something in his notebook.” Narad : “Really ? But what is he writing?” Hanuman : “ I don't know that O sage. You can go and have a look. ” Narad went inside and saw the Lord writing something. Narad : “ O Lord, what are you doing with the pen and notebook? Why don't you give this work to a clerk?” Ram : “No Narad, I have to do this work myself. I can't hand over this work to anyone.” Narad : “Alright. But what kind of thing are you writing in your notebook?” Ram : “What will you do by knowing ? Leave it.” Narad : “No Lord, I am eager to know whatever you are writing.” Ram : “In this notebook I take the attendance of those of my devotees who pray me all the time.” Narad : “ I see ! Lord please show me where my name is.” Lord showed him the notebook. Narad was pleased to find his name on the top of the list and felt proud with the thought that the Lord believes him as his truest devotee. But then he realised that Hanuman's name is nowhere to be seen in the notebook. Narad started wondering that Hanuman is Lord Ram's faithful devotee,then why is his name not present in the notebook ! Did the Lord forget to write his name? Puzzled Narad went to enquire Hanuman. Narad : “Hanuman, the names of all the devotees are written in Lord's notebook, but I couldn't find your name there! Hanuman : “O sage ! It must be there. Maybe you have overlooked.” Narad : “ No no ! I checked it thoroughly,your name doesn't exist there.” Hanuman : “ No problem, maybe I don't deserve to be in Lord's notebook. But Lord maintains a diary too,and even there he keeps writing something.” Narad : “ Really ?” Hanuman : “Yes !” Narad went inside to meet the Lord again. Narad : “ Lord, I have heard that you write a diary too. What do you write there?” Ram : “ Yes, but that's none of your use.” Narad : “ Lord please tell me, I am curious to know what you write there.” Ram : (smiles) “ O sage, here I write the names of those devotees who I always pray.” Narad opened the diary and found Hanuman's name on the top. Narad's pride vanished instantly seeing that. Lord accept those devotees who pray him from their lips but Lord prays those devotees who pray him from their hearts. “Although I am supremely independent, yet I become enslaved by my devotees. They conquer my heart. What to speak of my devotees, even the devotees of my devotees are very dear to me.“

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page